Often people identify a food by the sign written on the packet of the product whether it is vegetarian or non-vegetarian. But, do you know that some food products are also such that people eat them as veg food, but in reality they are non-veg food. These food products are such that it cannot be guessed by seeing or eating that they are non-veg. So let us tell you about some such foods which may seem vegetarian in appearance but are actually non-veg.
marshmallows are non-veg
Marshmallow is so soft that it melts in the mouth and people like it. The demand for marshmallows has skyrocketed over the past few years, but did you know it’s a non-weed product? Actually, water, sugar and gelatin are used to make marshmallow. Gelatin is not vegetarian, but non-vegetarian.
Kids favorite jelly is non veg
Everyone likes jelly in childhood, but do you know that it is a non-veg product. The jelly found in orange, strawberry and mango flavors is not made from any fruit but from gelatin and essence is used for flavoring. Please note that gelatin is made from animal fat and this made jelly non-vegetarian as well.
Tortillas are carnivorous
The tortilla bread tacos found at Pizza Hut or Domino’s are also non-veg. Please note that this is a type of bread that is very popular in Mexico. But, do you know that it is a non-veg food. Actually lard is used in making tortilla, which is the fat of animals. However, not all tortilla breads are non-veg, so whenever you eat them, first make sure whether you are eating veg or non-veg.
Vegetable Soup Doesn’t Always Have to Be Vegetarian
In winter people mostly drink soup, but do you know that vegetable soup is not always veg. Sometimes chicken broth is used to thicken the vegetable broth. Apart from this, chutney is used to make many soups, in which fish oil is used. So if you have ever eaten soup outside, first make sure that no non-veg product is mixed in your soup.